Heritage Trails in the Sperrin Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty

Sixtowns Heritage Trail

Located in the Parish of Ballinascreen, Sixtowns gets its name from the six townlands of which it is comprised, namely Moyard, Glenviggan, Moneyconey, Tullybrick, Owenreagh and Cavanreagh. It is not actually a village but has a long and interesting history.

The Sixtowns owes its origins to Ballynascreen Old Church which dates back at least 1,000 years and is believed in local folklore to have been founded by St. Patrick and later converted to a library or place of study, hence the Gaelic word ‘scrine’ which means a box or library.

This trail is best enjoyed as a self guided driving route, which takes in all six townlands and offers some great views of the Sperrins landscape.

East Sperrins Scenic DriveDraperstown Heritage TrailDesertmartin Heritage TrailSixtowns Heritage TrailMoneymore Heritage TrailNorth Sperrins Heritage TrailLimavady Heritage Trail